Pete Yorn 4/16 at 12pm

Author Archives: Lauren Riley

Cage the Elephant release music video for first single off upcoming album

Cage the elephant announce new album 'social cues'Photo by Neil Krug

Cage the Elephant finally announced the release of their fifth studio album Social Cues, set for release April 19. The first single, “Ready to Let Go,” produced by John Hill (Florence + The Machine, Portugal. The Man, tUnE-yArDs), dropped with a new music video.

Social Cues will follow up their Grammy-winning album Tell Me I’m Pretty with 13 new tracks, including a collaboration with Beck. The lead single “Ready to Let Go” is deceptively upbeat, set against the visuals of lead singer Matt Shultz performing some eerie underground rituals. He says the album was written during the unraveling of a relationship.

In order to get through it, Shultz “explored the hidden recesses of his psyche, creating characters to tell different parts of his personal story,” according to a statement.

“It can be a vehicle to act out things that are hard to confront.” Shultz explains, “when I’m creating, I try to put myself in a reactive state of improvisational thought. I let images just arise in my mind and wait for it to evoke an emotional response and then when it does, I know I’m on to something. I was watching a lot of Fassbinder films, like World on a Wire and The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant. I was thinking about their beauty coupled with the graphic surrealism of (Darren) Aronofsky.”

Cage The Elephant will headline Shaky Knees festival in Atlanta on May 4th. More 2019 dates will be announced soon. Check out the video for “Ready to Let Go” below.

Social Cues Tracklist:

  1. Broken Boy
  2. Social Cues
  3. Black Madonna
  4. Night Running (Cage The Elephant, Beck)
  5. Skin and Bones
  6. Ready To Let Go
  7. House of Glass
  8. Love’s the Only Way
  9. The War is Over
  10. Dance Dance
  11. What I’m Becoming
  12. Tokyo Smoke
  13. Goodbye

Watch: Rivers Cuomo releases quirky video and solo song

Weezer frontman Rivers Cuomo is coming off a big year, and he’s bookending it with a surprise solo song and video release. “Two Broken Hearts” is the story of the people who leave and are left. It’s like dive into River’s Twitter feed, with a chorus about healing with Häagen-Dazs and HBO. Lyrics “give me your…

Twitter reacts to Pitbull’s ‘Aquaman’ remix of ‘Africa’

 It’s no surprise “Africa’s” resurgence was ushered back into public consciousness 2018 after Weezer’s megahit cover. It sparked many remixes and covers, but none worse, maybe, than this. The song sits at 75% thumbs down on YouTube just one day after it’s release. Many commenters felt compelled to apologize to Toto. Rivers Cuomo recently tweeted that…

Advertise with KFOG

Advertise with KFOG

There is no custom code to display.