Listen: Weezer’s surprises fans with ‘The Teal Album’ of cover songs

Weezer just keeps on getting kookier with age.

On the heels of the massive success of their cover of Toto’s “Africa,” the band upped the ante by releasing a surprise album of all cover songs overnight. The 10 -rack album includes their take on everything from The Eurythmics “Sweet Dreams” to TLC’s “No Scrubs”, and yes, “Africa” is on there as well.

It’s been a busy few months since “Africa” landed Weezer back on everyone’s radar by notching them their first number one single on the Billboard Alternative chart since 2008’s “Pork and Beans.”

The band announced plans late in 2018 for what would have been their 5th self-titled album, to be affectionately known as The Black Album, on March 1, but all that shifted around overnight. The cover album now becomes the band’s 5th self-titled album, dubbed The Teal Album, while the upcoming release of all original songs with become their 6th self-titled.

If that wasn’t enough, Weezer will embark on a world tour starting in April alongside alt icons Pixes, making a stop at the Oracle in Oakland  March 8th. Check out the full tracklisting and stream Weezer (Teal Album) album below.

Weezer (The Teal Album) Tracklist:
1. Africa (Toto)
2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Tears for Fears)
3. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) (The Eurythmics)
4. Take On Me (a-ha)
5. Happy Together (The Turtles)
6. Paranoid (Black Sabbath)
7. Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)
8. No Scrubs (TLC)
9. Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)
10. Stand By Me (Ben E. King)

Advertise with KFOG

Advertise with KFOG

Bay Area Live Music